Environmental Quality

The Environmental Quality (EQ) Policy Committee reviews issues related to air, water and water quality, California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), solid waste and recycling, hazardous materials, coastal issues, utilities, and wildfires.   


Policy Committee

Committee Leadership

2023 Chair - Jennifer Cavenaugh, Vice Mayor, Piedmont
2023 Vice Chair - Illece Buckley Weber, Council Member, Agoura Hills

Committee Members

The committee's membership is comprised of representatives from each of the Cal Cities professional departments, regional divisions, and caucuses, and appointments by the Cal Cities president.

Meeting Agendas and Highlights
The Environmental Quality Policy Committee will meet in 2023 on the following dates and times:

  • Thursday, June 22, from 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
    Sheraton Fairplex Hotel and Conference Center

    California Grants Portal

    The California Grants Portal (a project by the California State Library) is your one destination to find all grants and loans offered on a competitive or first-come basis by California state agencies. 

    Take Action

    Our advocacy efforts are strongest when joined by the voices of city leaders. Visit the action center for a list of current priority legislative bills and proposals, and sample letters of support or opposition.


    Make your voice heard

    Mixed organics in green bin

    Contact Staff

    Melissa Sparks-Kranz
    Legislative Affairs, Lobbyist, Environmental Quality

    Curious why Cal Cities supports or opposes certain bills or measures? Advocacy efforts are determined by Annual Conference Resolutions or the  Existing Policy and Guiding Principles.