Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations

The Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations Policy Committee reviews issues related to transparency, technology (open data), healthcare, elections, and political reform. Additionally, the committee oversees pensions and workers compensation reform, as well as other labor-related issues. 


Policy Committee

Committee Leadership
2024 Chair - Frank Aurelio Yokoyama, Council Member, Cerritos

2024 Vice Chair - Jaime Patino, Council Member, Union City

Committee Members

The committee's membership is comprised of representatives from each of the Cal Cities professional departments, regional divisions, and caucuses, and appointments by the Cal Cities president.

2024 Policy Committee membership roster.

Learn how to join a Policy Committee.

Meeting Agendas and Highlights

The Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations Policy Committee will meet in 2024 on the following dates and times:

  • Thursday, March 21, 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
    Marriot Burbank Airport Hotel
    Agenda |  Highlights
  • Thursday, June 20, 9:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.
    2023 Meetings


    Current Action in the Legislature


    Resources for Cities

    by Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations Policy Issue

    Retirement System Sustainability
    Established in 1932, the California Public Employees' Retirement System (CalPERS) is a defined benefit system. Members include employees of state agencies, cities, schools, and other local public agencies. Visit the retirement system sustainability page for an overview of the pension system, as well as related news articles, educational resources, and tools.

    California Grants Portal

    The California Grants Portal (a project by the California State Library) is your one destination to find all grants and loans offered on a competitive or first-come basis by California state agencies. 

    Upcoming Events

    June 4, 2024 10:00 AM-12:00 PM
    Advocacy Update on Priority Legislation


    July 8, 2024 1:30 PM-3:30 PM
    Summer Recess Briefing Priority Bills


    October 16-18, 2024
    Annual Conference and Expo

    View All >

    Take Action

    Our advocacy efforts are strongest when joined by the voices of city leaders. Visit the action center for a list of current priority legislative bills and proposals, and sample letters of support or opposition.


    Make your voice heard

    Contact Staff

    Johnnie Pina
    Legislative Affairs, Lobbyist, Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations
    (916) 658-8214

    Curious why Cal Cities supports or opposes certain bills or measures? Advocacy efforts are determined by  Annual Conference Resolutions or the  Existing Policy and Guiding Principles.