The Public Safety Policy Committee reviews issues related to law enforcement, fire and life safety policies, including emergency communications, and emergency services, including ambulance and disaster preparedness.

Policy Committee

Committee Leadership
2023 Chair - Ray Marquez, Mayor, Chino Hills

2023 Vice Chair - Claudia Marroquin-Frometa, Council Member, Downey

Committee Members

The committee's membership is comprised of representatives from each of the Cal Cities professional departments, regional divisions, and caucuses, and appointments by the Cal Cities president.

2023 Policy Committee membership roster.

Learn how to join a Policy Committee.

Meeting Agendas and Highlights
The Public Safety Policy Committee will meet in 2023 on the following dates and times:

  • Thursday, June 22, from 10:00 a.m.-2:00 p.m.
    Sheraton Fairplex Hotel and Conference Center


    Current Action in the Legislature


    Resources for Cities

    by Public Safety Issue

    California Grants Portal

    The California Grants Portal (a project by the California State Library) is your one destination to find all grants and loans offered on a competitive or first-come basis by California state agencies. 

    Take Action

    Our advocacy efforts are strongest when joined by the voices of city leaders. Visit the action center for a list of current priority legislative bills and proposals, and sample letters of support or opposition.


    Make your voice heard

    Police car

    Contact Staff

    Jolena Voorhis
    Legislative Affairs, Lobbyist, Public Safety

    Curious why Cal Cities supports or opposes certain bills or measures? Advocacy efforts are determined by Annual Conference Resolutions or the  Existing Policy and Guiding Principles.