The Monterey Bay Division includes 18 cities in Monterey, Santa Cruz, and San Benito counties, and provides members with the opportunity to exchange ideas and information and share the advantages of cooperative advocacy. 


Division Cities
  • Capitola
  • Carmel
  • Del Rey Oaks
  • Gonzales
  • Greenfield
  • Hollister
  • King City
  • Marina
  • Monterey
  • Pacific Grove
  • Salinas
  • San Juan Bautista
  • Sand City
  • Santa Cruz
  • Scotts Valley
  • Seaside
  • Soledad
  • Watsonville
Division Officers/ Members
The division is guided by an executive committee under the leadership of a division president. Elected city officials and professional city staff attend division meetings throughout the year to share what they are doing and advocate for their interests at the state capitol. Division members also participate in the development of Cal Cities policy through representation on:

  • The Cal Cities Board of Directors;
  • Policy committees;
  • The Annual Conference Resolution committee; and
  • The Annual Conference Program committee.

Division Officers

President - Mary Ann Carbone, Mayor, Sand City
First Vice President - Yvette Brooks, Council Member, Capitola
Second Vice President - Ian Oglesby, Mayor, Seaside
Board Director - Dave Potter, Mayor, Carmel
Immediate Past President - Anna Velazquez, Mayor, Soledad
Contact Your Lawmaker
Senator John Laird
State Capitol, Room 4040
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4017
Fax: (916) 651-4917

Senator Anna Caballero
State Capitol, Room 5052
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4012
Fax: (916) 651-4912
Assembly Member Robert Rivas
State Capitol, Room 5158
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2030
Fax: (916) 319-2130
Assembly Member Gail Pellerin
State Capitol, P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2028

Division Meetings/ Events


Upcoming Division Meetings
For information about events please contact Deanna Sessums.

Upcoming Events


March 5, 2024 9:30 AM-11:30 AM
2024 Legislative Briefing: New Legislation Overview


March 6-8, 2024
Planning Commissioners Academy


March 13-15, 2024
Public Works Officers Institute

View All >

Contact Staff

Sessums, Deanna
Deanna Sessums
Regional Public Affairs Manager, Monterey Bay Division
(831) 429-6605 or (831) 915-8293

Cal Cities provides up-to-date information about the legislative process, lobbying, and which bills are scheduled for hearings. Hone your advocacy skills by diving into our Advocacy Tools

Search state lawmaker contact information by legislative body, political party, and constituent address. Find your legislator.