The Orange County Division is comprised of 33 Orange County cities and provides members with the opportunity to exchange ideas and information and share the advantages of cooperative advocacy for local control. The Division includes over 3 million people — making it the second-most densely populated county in California — and is led by over 200 city elected officials. 

Division Cities
  • Aliso Viejo
  • Anaheim
  • Brea
  • Buena Park
  • Costa Mesa
  • Cypress
  • Dana Point
  • Fountain Valley
  • Fullerton
  • Garden Grove
  • Huntington Beach
  • Irvine
  • La Habra
  • La Palma
  • Laguna Beach
  • Laguna Hills
  • Laguna Niguel
  • Laguna Woods*
  • Lake Forest
  • Los Alamitos
  • Mission Viejo
  • Newport Beach
  • Orange
  • Placentia
  • Rancho Santa Margarita
  • San Clemente
  • San Juan Capistrano
  • Santa Ana
  • Seal Beach
  • Stanton
  • Tustin
  • Villa Park
  • Westminster
  • Yorba Linda

*Nonmember city. 

Division Officers/ Members

The Orange County Division is governed by a 13-member board of directors under the leadership of a division president. The Division serves as an integral part of the grassroots advocacy core of Cal Cities. City Officials, both elected and professional city staff, work closely to develop regional informational programs and carry out grassroots activities to support specific legislative, regulatory, and ballot measure goals. Division Members also participate in the development of Cal Cities' statewide policy through direct representation on the following: 

  • The Cal Cities Board of Directors;
  • Policy committees covering eight subject areas;
  • Annual Conference Resolution committee; and
  • The Annual Conference Program committee. 
2023-2024 Division Officers

President – Marshall Goodman, Mayor Pro Tem, La Palma
First Vice President – David Shawver, Mayor, Stanton
Second Vice President – David Penaloza, Council Member, Santa Ana
Immediate Past President – John Taylor, Council Member, San Juan Capistrano
State Director – Kim Nguyen, Council Member, Garden Grove
Large City Representative – Fred Jung, Mayor, Fullerton
Large City Representative – Tammy Kim, Vice Mayor, Irvine
Large City Representative – Natalie Moser, Council Member, Huntington Beach
First District Representative – Glenn Grandis, Mayor Pro Tem, Fountain Valley
Second District Representative – Thai Viet Phan, Council Member, Santa Ana
Third District Representative – Scott Voigts, Council Member, Lake Forest
Fourth District Representative – Rose Espinoza, Mayor, La Habra
Fifth District Representative – Robyn Grant, Council Member, Newport Beach
Contact Your State Legislator

Senator Josh Newman (District 29)
Capitol Office, Room 6520
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4029
Twitter: @JoshNewmanCA

Senator Bob Archuleta (District 30)
Capitol Office, Room 6620
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4030
Twitter: @SenBobArchuleta

Senator Kelly Seyarto (District 32)
Capitol Office, Room 7120
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4032
Twitter: @SenatorSeyarto

Senator Tom Umberg (District 34)
Capitol Office, Room 6530
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4034
Twitter: @SenatorUmberg

Senator Janet Nguyen (District 36)
Capitol Office, Room 7130
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4036
Twitter: @JanetNguyenCA

Senator Dave Min (District 37)
Capitol Office, Room 6710
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4037
Twitter: @DaveMinCA

Senator Catherine Blakespear (District 38)
Capitol Office, Room 7340
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4038
Twitter: @SenBlakespear

Assembly Member Phillip Chen (District 59)
Capitol Office, Room 4620
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2059
Twitter: @PhillipChenCA

Assembly Member Blanca Pacheco (District 64)
Capitol Office, Room 6240
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2064
Twitter: @AsmPacheco

Assembly Member Sharon Quirk-Silva (District 67)
Capitol Office, Room 4210
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2067
Twitter: @QuirkSilvaCA

Assembly Member Avelino Valencia (District 68)
Capitol Office, Room 4120
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2068
Twitter: @AsmValencia

Assembly Member Tri Ta (District 70)
Capitol Office, Room 5540
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2070
Twitter: @TriTa4CA

Assembly Member Kate Sanchez (District 71)
Capitol Office, Room 4340
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2071
Twitter: @AsmKateSanchez

Assembly Member Diane Dixon (District 72)
Capitol Office, Room 5330
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2072
Twitter: @DianeDixonAD72

Assembly Member Cottie Petrie-Norris (District 73)
Capitol Office, Room 4230
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2073
Twitter: @AsmCottie

Assembly Member Laurie Davies (District 74)
Capitol Office, Room 5064
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-2074
Twitter: @AsmLaurieDavies

Division Affiliates

Division Meetings / Events


About Division Meetings

The Orange County Division meets every quarter for its Division Meetings in rotating cities. These meetings allow the Division’s 33 member cities to hear updates on policy areas relevant to local government.

The Division offers an Affiliate Program for non-city organizations to support Division activities throughout the year. Click here and contact Connor Medina to learn more.

Upcoming Division Events

Thursday, September 21
5:30-7:30 p.m.
Annual Conference Division Reception and Swearing-In of 2023-2024 Division Board
Hyatt Regency Sacramento, Capitol View, 15th Floor

Thursday, December 7
Time TBD
San Juan Capistrano

Past Division Events
  • Thursday, August 24 Orange County Division Meeting and 2023-2024 Board Election, featuring a presentation on SB 1439 by Randall Keen and Jake Itzkowitz, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP.

The OC City Newsletter

Want to stay in the loop on news, events, legislative issues, and more happening in your division? Sign up to receive the latest news and events from the Orange County Division!

Contact Staff

Connor Medina
Regional Public Affairs Manager, Orange County Division
(949) 421-9898

Cal Cities provides up-to-date information about the legislative process, lobbying, and which bills are scheduled for hearings. Hone your advocacy skills by diving into our Advocacy Tools

Search state lawmaker contact information by legislative body, political party, and constituent address. Find your legislator.