Mayors and Council Members

The Mayors and Council Members Department provides networking opportunities and fosters professional development for department members through Cal Cities' educational and communication tools. It also serves as a technical and advisory resource to Cal Cities through its policy committee representatives.

Subscribe to the Mayors and Council Members Listserv to receive the latest updates and information.


Department Officers

President - Melissa Hunt, Vice Mayor, Anderson 
First Vice President - Debbie Baker, Council Member, La Palma 
Second Vice President - Kuldip Thusu, Council Member, Dinuba 
Immediate Past President - Susannah Meyer, Vice Mayor, Brentwood 
Department Director - Lori Ogorchock, Council Member, Antioch 

Policy Committee Representatives

Appointed by the department president, each department has at least one representative on each of the Cal Cities' standing seven policy committees that can provide technical information to the committee as a whole to ensure that the department has a voice in the decision-making process, and make recommendations to the board of directors on legislative and policy issues.

  • Community Services – Debbie Baker, Mayor, La Palma           
  • Environmental Quality – Jeffrey Nibert, Council Member, Pleasanton
  • Governance, Transparency, and Labor Relations – Kari Leon, Council Member, Apple Valley  
  • Housing, Community, and Economic Development – Scott Behrendt, Council Member, Redondo Beach
  • Public Safety – Michael Vargas, Mayor, Perris         
  • Revenue and Taxation – Richard Montgomery, Mayor, Manhattan Beach    
  • Transportation, Communications, and Public Works – Ann Schneider, Mayor, Millbrea

Leadership Academy Torch Program

The League of California Cities Mayors and Council Members Department honors the hard work and dedication of its peers through the Mayors and Council Members Torch Program. Each year, elected officials from throughout California earn recognition as they progress upward through three sequential levels of achievement: 

  • Level I – Leadership
  • Level II – Advanced Leadership
  • Level III – Leadership in Action   
Apply Now

*if you are completing the Torch application for anyone other than yourself, contact Meghan McKelvey.

What is the program?

The Torch Program is an educational program for mayors and council members who are seeking continuing education to enhance their own knowledge and skills in order to better serve the public. The Torch Program is voluntary and achievements are self-reportable. 

Be recognized for your achievements

Mayors and Council Members who reach Advanced Leadership and Leadership in Action levels of the Leadership Academy are honored at the League of California Cities' Annual Conference with a certificate and torch lapel pin. Cal Cities can also arrange for recognition at your own city council meeting and/or via a news release.

Apply now and be recognized for your achievements. Contact Meghan McKelvey, Manager, Department & Membership Services, for more information or to submit your qualifications.

A list of Mayors and Council Members who have received recognition since 2003 can be found here: Leadership (Level 1),   Advanced Leadership (Level 2) and Leadership in Action (Level 3).

Upcoming Events

April 17-19, 2024
City Leaders Summit


October 16-18, 2024
Annual Conference and Expo

View All >

Contact Staff

McKelvey, Meghan
Meghan McKelvey
Department and Member Services Senior Manager
(916) 658-8253

Isaac Black
Administrative Associate, Member Services