The Orange County Division is comprised of 32 Orange County cities and provides members with the opportunity to exchange ideas and information and share the advantages of cooperative advocacy for local control. The Division includes over 3 million people — making it the second-most densely populated county in California — and is led by over 200 city elected officials. 

Division Cities
  • Aliso Viejo
  • Anaheim
  • Brea
  • Buena Park
  • Costa Mesa
  • Cypress
  • Dana Point
  • Fountain Valley
  • Fullerton
  • Garden Grove
  • Huntington Beach
  • Irvine
  • La Habra
  • La Palma
  • Laguna Beach
  • Laguna Hills
  • Laguna Niguel
  • Laguna Woods*
  • Lake Forest
  • Los Alamitos
  • Mission Viejo
  • Newport Beach
  • Orange*
  • Placentia
  • Rancho Santa Margarita
  • San Clemente
  • San Juan Capistrano
  • Santa Ana
  • Seal Beach
  • Stanton
  • Tustin
  • Villa Park
  • Westminster
  • Yorba Linda

*Nonmember city. 

Division Officers/ Members
The Orange County Division is governed by a 13-member board of directors under the leadership of a division president. The Division serves as an integral part of the grassroots advocacy core of Cal Cities. City Officials, both elected and professional city staff, work closely to develop regional informational programs and carry out grassroots activities to support specific legislative, regulatory, and ballot measure goals. Division Members also participate in the development of Cal Cities' statewide policy through direct representation on the following: 

  • The Cal Cities Board of Directors;
  • Policy committees covering eight subject areas;
  • Annual Conference Resolution committee; and
  • The Annual Conference Program committee.   

The Division also hosts General Membership meetings which focus on issues germane to local government and have included high-level speakers including the State Legislative Analyst, the State Controller, and numerous State Senators and Assembly Members.  Rotated regionally throughout Orange County, city elected officials, city managers and professional city staff all attend the Division’s General Membership meetings to get briefed on statewide issues impacting the local government sector.  The Orange County Division's General Membership meetings also provide attendees an opportunity to share and discuss strategies for strengthening cities' collective voice for increased advocacy in the State Capitol.  

Division Officers 

President - Gene Hernandez, Council Member, Yorba Linda First Vice President - Stacy Berry, Mayor, Cypress
Second Vice President - Kim Nguyen, Mayor Pro Tem, Garden Grove 
Board Director - Ross Chun, Mayor Pro Tem, Aliso Viejo
Large City Representative - Jesus Silva, Council Member, Fullerton
Large City Representative - Vacant
Large City Representative - Ed Sachs, Council Member, Mission Viejo
First District Representative - Vacant
Second District Representative - Shelley Hasselbrink, Council Member, Los Alamitos
Third District Representative - Vacant
Fourth District Representative - Rose Espinoza, Council Member, La Habra 
Fifth District Representative - Joe Muller, Mayor, Dana Point
City Manager Representative - Jim Vanderpool, City Manager, Anaheim
Past President - Laurie Davies, Assembly Member, 73rd District

Legislative Advocacy and Priorities 
The Orange County Division Board of Directors meets on a monthly basis and adopts positions on statewide and regional legislation. If the Board adopts a position on a bill of high priority, an Action Alert will be immediately sent to the Division Membership. Bills that are a priority to the Division will be listed here.

If there is a bill that your city needs advocacy on, or if you would like a legislative update on the priority bills that Cal Cities is tracking, please contact Public Affairs Regional Manager Tony Cardenas. If you are a city elected official and would like to receive a legislative or state budget update at a future city council meeting, please contact Public Affairs Regional Manager Tony Cardenas as well.  
Statewide Newspaper Service
Sign up and receive newspaper articles relevant to local government. For more information, email the Orange County Division's Public Affairs Manager Tony Cardenas at
Contact Your Lawmaker
Senator Patricia Bates (District 36)
Capitol Office, Room 3048
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4036

Senator Josh Newman (District 29)
Capitol Office, Room 4066
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4029
Senator Bob Archuleta (District 32)
Capitol Office, Room 5066
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4032
Senator David Min (District 37)
Capitol Office, Room 2048
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4037
Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4034

P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0073
Phone: (916) 319-2073 

P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0055
Phone: (916) 319-2055

P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0069
Phone: (916) 319-2069
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249
Phone: (916) 319-2074

P.O. Box 942849,
Sacramento, CA 94249
Phone: (916) 319-2065
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0068
Phone: (916) 319-2068

P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249
Phone: (916) 319-2072

Division Meetings / Events


About Division Meetings
The Orange County Division usually meets every quarter for its General Membership meetings. However, due to COVID-19, the Division is hosting these meetings on the second Friday of the month at 3:30 p.m. on Zoom. Meetings are recorded and archived in the "Meeting recording" section above.  

General Membership meetings allow the Division's membership to hear updates on policy areas relevant to local government from State Legislators and other key speakers. City elected officials, city managers, city staff, and League Partners are all welcome to participate. 
Upcoming Division Meetings
Friday, July 9, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.

July General Membership Meeting

Friday, August 13, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.
August General Membership Meeting

Friday, September 10, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.
September General Membership Meeting

Friday, October 8, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.
October General Membership Meeting

Friday, November 12, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.
November General Membership Meeting

Friday, December 10, 2021
Starting at 3:00 p.m.
December General Membership Meeting

Past Division Meetings
January 2021 General Membership Meeting
Paul Mitchel discusses the impacts of redistricting and gives a post-2020 election analysis. 

Legislative housing update with Cal Cities Assistant Legislative Director and Housing Lobbyist Jason Rhine.

Brown Act Modernization, SB 1383, and Recycling Legislative Update 

State Legislators Roundtable featuring Assemblywoman Laurie Davies (D-73) and Assemblywoman Sharon Quirk-Silva (D-65). 

Tony's Legislative Lounge Meeting Recordings

These two-week updates are designed to keep city staff updated on the latest legislative news impacting the local government sector. 

Upcoming Events

View All >

Contact Staff

Cardenas, Tony
Tony Cárdenas
Regional Public Affairs Manager, Orange County Division
(714) 766-9290

Cal Cities provides up-to-date information about the legislative process, lobbying, and which bills are scheduled for hearings. Hone your advocacy skills by diving into our Advocacy Tools

Search state lawmaker contact information by legislative body, political party, and constituent address. Find your legislator.