Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is responsible for the overall supervision, control, and direction of Cal Cities. The Board consists of a president, first vice president, second vice president, immediate past president, executive director, a representative from each of the Cal Cities 16 regional divisions, 10 municipal departments, five caucuses, as well as mayors or designees of the 10 largest cities by population, and 12 selected at-large members. 

At least one of the at-large members must be from a city with a population under 10,000. The Board of Directors also includes California city officials serving on the National League of Cities Board of Directors. Only city officials from member cities are eligible to serve.


Executive Committee


Board Members

The Cal Cities Board of Directors consists of the following:

  • President, first vice president, second vice president, and immediate past president
  • One director elected by each of the sixteen regional divisions;
  • One director elected by each of the 10 functional departments;
  • One director elected by each of the five caucuses;
  • Twelve directors at-large;
  • One director designated by each of the ten largest cities in California; and
  • Any California city officials serving on the National League of Cities Board of Directors.

League of California Cities 2020-2021 Board of Directors


  • President Cindy Silva, Mayor Pro Tem, Walnut Creek
  • First Vice President Ali Sajjad Taj, Council Member, Artesia
  • Second Vice President Dan Parra, Council Member, Fowler
  • Immediate Past President Cheryl Viegas Walker, Council Member, El Centro
  • Executive Director and CEO, Carolyn Coleman


  • Walt Allen, Council Member, Covina – African American Caucus
  • Jan Arbuckle, Vice Mayor, Grass Valley – At-large
  • Dan Arriola, Council Member, Tracy – Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Queer (LGBTQ) Caucus
  • Denise Athas, Council Member, Novato – At-large
  • Al Austin, Council Member, Long Beach – Large City Alternate for Mayor Garcia
  • Emily Beach, Council Member, Burlingame – Peninsula Division
  • LaTanya Bellow, Human Resources Director, Berkeley – Personnel and Employee Relations Department
  • John Binaski, Fire Chief, Clovis – Fire Chiefs Department
  • London Breed, Mayor, San Francisco – Large City
  • Joe Buscaino, Council Member and President Pro Tem, Los Angeles – Large City Alternate for Mayor Garcetti
  • Ken Carlson, Council Member, Pleasant Hill – East Bay Division
  • Chris Catren, Police Chief, Redlands – Police Chiefs Department
  • David Cohen, Council Member, San Jose – Large City Alternate for Mayor Liccardo
  • Michael Colantuono, City Attorney, Grass Valley – City Attorneys Department
  • Pippin Dew, Council Member, Vallejo – North Bay Division
  • Phill Dupper, Mayor, Loma Linda – Inland Empire Division
  • Jerry Dyer, Mayor, Fresno – Large City
  • Edgard Garcia, Council Member, El Centro – Imperial County Division
  • Todd Gloria, Mayor, San Diego – Large City
  • Karen Goh, Mayor, Bakersfield – Large City
  • Eric Guerra, Council Member, Sacramento – Large City Alternate for Mayor Steinberg
  • Rene Guerrero, Director of Public Works, Pomona – Public Works Department
  • Gene Hernandez, Mayor Pro Tem, Yorba Linda – Orange County Division
  • Steve Hofbauer, Mayor, Palmdale – Desert Mountain Division
  • Lindsey Horvath, Council Member, West Hollywood – NLC Board of Directors
  • Britt Huff, Mayor Pro Tem, Rolling Hills Estates – At-large
  • Randi Johl, Director of Legislative Affairs/City Clerk, Temecula – City Clerks Department
  • Dan Kalb, Council Member, Oakland – Large City Alternate for Mayor Schaaf
  • Ellen Kamei, Mayor, Mountain View – Women’s Caucus
  • Lynne Kennedy, Mayor Pro Tem, Rancho Cucamonga – At-large
  • Jim Lewis, City Manager, Pismo Beach – City Managers Department
  • Corina Lopez, Council Member, San Leandro – NLC Board of Directors
  • Tony Madrigal, Council Member, Modesto – Central Valley Division
  • Ray Marquez, Mayor, Chino Hills – At-large
  • Annie Mezzacappa, Mayor’s Chief of Staff, Anaheim – Large City Alternate for Mayor Sidhu
  • Lisa Middleton, Mayor, Palm Springs – At-large
  • Porsche Middleton, Mayor, Citrus Heights – At-large
  • John Minto, Mayor, Santee – San Diego County Division
  • Richard Montgomery, Council Member, Manhattan Beach – At-large
  • Eric Nelson, Planning Commissioner, Dana Point – Planning and Community Development Department
  • Lori Ogorchock, Council Member, Antioch – Mayors and Council Members Department
  • Blanca Pacheco, Mayor, Downey – At-large
  • David Pollock, Council Member, Moorpark – Channel Counties Division
  • Dave Potter, Mayor, Carmel – Monterey Bay Division
  • Ana Maria Quintana, Vice Mayor, Bell – Los Angeles County Division
  • Gabe Quinto, Mayor, El Cerrito – At-large
  • Roberta Raper - Director of Finance and Technology, West Sacramento – Fiscal Officers Dept.
  • Dana Reed, Mayor, Indian Wells – Riverside County Division
  • David Sander, Council Member, Rancho Cordova – At-large
  • Joan Smith Freeman, Mayor, Yreka – Sacramento Valley Division
  • Esmeralda Soria, Council Member, Fresno – Latino Caucus
  • Kuldip Thusu, Council Member, Dinuba – South San Joaquin Valley Division
  • Mireya Turner, Council Member, Lakeport – Redwood Empire Division
  • Nancy Young, Mayor, Tracy – At-large
Travel Voucher

Cal Cities pays actual and necessary expenses incurred by directors who attend the boards’ quarterly, two-day meetings. For eligible expenses, please submit a travel expense voucher

Upcoming Board Meetings

February 24-25, 2022 
Lesher Center for the Arts
Walnut Creek, CA

May 13-14, 2022 
Hyatt Regency
(In conjunction with new Legislative Action Day /
Executive Forum Event)

July 14-15, 2022 
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Garden Grove, CA

September 8, 2022 
Long Beach
(in conjunction with Annual Conference and
Expo – September 7-9)

Upcoming Events

View All >

Contact Staff


Herrera, Pam
Pamela Herrera
Executive Assistant, Office of the CEO
(916) 658-8229